Voting at the RDOS

I sometimes get questions about how the voting works at the RDOS.  The RDOS board has 18 members, of which 8 are rural electoral area directors and 10 represent municipal members.  To make things more confusing, each board member carries a certain number of votes based on the population he or she represents.  As the representative of Electoral Area F (population about 2,100) I carry 2 votes. The four directors representing Penticton have 4 or 5 votes each.  The director of Electoral Area D (Kaleden, OK Falls, Apex, South Skaha; population 5,700) also carries 5 votes.

A couple of important things to note, however: